10 Bible Verses That Connect Running to Catholicism

I’m not surprised there are so many verses in the Bible about running or endurance sports. In fact, running is one of the most important things that brought me to the Catholic Church, since it prepared me for the spiritual discipline required in my faith.

Here are some of my favorite Bible verses for running!

10 Bible Verses That Connect Running to Catholicism

Do you not know that your body is a temple of the holy Spirit within you, who you have from God, and that you are not your own? For you have been purchased at a price. Therefore, glorify God in your body. 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

Every athlete exercises discipline in every way. They do it to win a perishable crown, but we an imperishable one. 1 Corinthians 9:25

Let us…persevere in running the race that lies before us. Hebrews 12:1

…all discipline seems a cause not for joy but for pain, yet later it brings the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who are trained by it. Hebrews 12:11

…while physical training is of limited value, devotion is valuable in every respect, since it holds a promise of life both for the present and for the future. 1 Timothy 4:8

I have competed well; I have finished the race; I have kept the faith. 2 Timothy 4:7

…we even boast of our afflictions, knowing that affliction produces endurance, and endurance, proven character, and proven character, hope. Romans 5:3-4

Yet I consider life of no importance to me, if only I may finish my course and the ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus, to bear witness to the gospel of God’s grace. Acts 20:24

They that hope in the Lord will renew their strength, they will soar on eagles’ wings; They will run and not grow weary, walk and not grow faint. Isaiah 40:31

Let your eyes look straight ahead and your gaze be focused forward. Survey the path for your feet, and all your ways will be sure. Proverbs 4:25-26

Want to connect physical discipline with spiritual discipline? Sign up for the #CatholicWomenRun challenge! We start December 4!

 

Leave a Reply

